I let a lot of time go by in creating this third part about Untapped Traffic Ads. So, this post may be very long.
The good news: I learned a lot from the data I received. The bad: I may be done with this specific advertiser.
For starters, I risked 100 dollars with this advertiser on a recurring low-cost campaign. To my knowledge of checking my email almost every day, I’m very sure that I got 0 conversions.
I’m willing to continue testing out these traffic services, but probably not in this way.
At the end of the day, I’m able to say that through this experiment, I drove 180 clicks to a sales page.
The problem is, I didn’t try to build a list before sending them to the sales page.
So, as a result, I don’t get the chance to market to them in the future. Assuming all the end clicks (to the sales page) are real humans, that really sucks.
Such is life. Learn and move on.
The Statistics from Untapped Traffic Ads
If I look at the (advertiser’s) stats from March 6th onward, it will tell me that I had consistent clicks.
The problem is my splash page platform doesn’t record clicks after 30 days.
So, given the time of creating this (late April), I lost out on some of the information from the clicks (via my splash page statistics).
But I can tell you distinctly when I changed the splash page… that was March 26th.
This is because I paused the campaign, so there was an obvious drop in clicks. Also, the advertiser had to review and approve my splash page.
Thankfully, I do have the statistics for the new splash page. Before we get to that, I’m going to show you the statistics from the advertiser.
On the 28th of March, I got 156,039 impressions and 118 clicks.
On the 29th, I got 79,021 impressions and 135 clicks.
March 30th, I got 35,368 impressions and 133 clicks.
March 31st, I got 57,842 impressions and 132 clicks.
April 1st, I got 68,017 impressions and 134 clicks.
April 2nd, I got 62,050 impressions and 133 clicks.
On April 3rd, I got 77,519 impressions and 134 clicks.
On April 4th, I got 51,085 impressions and 133 clicks.
April 5th, I got 74,453 impressions and 132 clicks.
April 6th, I got 63,379 impressions and 134 clicks.
On April 7th, I got 87,392 impressions and 127 clicks.
On April 8th, I got 84,935 impressions and 134 clicks.
April 9th, I got 74,122 impressions and 131 clicks.
April 10th, I got 103,935 impressions and 133 clicks.
On April 11th, I got 58,239 impressions and 88 clicks.
On April 12th, I got 0 on everything LOL. (This makes no sense when you compare it with the stats from the splash page.)
This time around, I decided to create graphs to make it easier to understand the data.
Splash Page Statistics
On the 28th, I received 132 total clicks, 125 unique clicks, and 95 real visits. 1 clicked through LOL.
March 29th, I received 143 total clicks, 137 unique clicks, and 111 real visits. 2 clicked through.
On March 30th, I received 118 total clicks, 116 unique clicks, and 86 real visits. 2 clicked through.
On the 31st, I received 118 total clicks, 105 unique clicks, and 42 real visits. 0 clicked through LOL.
April 1st, I received 119 total clicks, 112 unique clicks, and 58 real visits. 1 clicked through LOL.
April 2nd, I received 141 total clicks, 132 unique clicks, and 95 real visits. 2 clicked through.
On the 3rd, I received 144 total clicks, 134 unique clicks, and 76 real visits. 1 clicked through LOL.
On the 4th, I received 163 total clicks, 148 unique clicks, and 114 real visits. 0 clicked through LOL.
April 5th, I received 140 total clicks, 129 unique clicks, and 80 real visits. 2 clicked through.
April 6th, I received 116 total clicks, 111 unique clicks, and 57 real visits. 0 clicked through.
On the 7th, I received 165 total clicks, 130 unique clicks, and 54 real visits. 2 clicked through.
On the 8th, I received 127 total clicks, 106 unique clicks, and 43 real visits. 1 clicked through.
April 9th, I received 101 total clicks, 98 unique clicks, and 33 real visits. 1 clicked through.
April 10th, I received 189 total clicks, 149 unique clicks, and 51 real visits. 1 clicked through.
On the 11th, I received 127 total clicks, 114 unique clicks, and 37 real visits. 0 clicked through.
On the 12th, I received 1 total click, 1 unique click, and 0 real visits. 0 clicked through.
And then my ad budget finally ran out. I find it funny that that happened on my brother’s birthday (the 12th). LOL.
Total Results from Untapped Traffic Ads
Grand total for the splash page: 2048 total clicks, 1850 unique clicks, 1033 real visits, 17 click-throughs.
That’s a little higher than a 1% click-through rate when compared to real visits.
(The accurate number is 17/1033 = 1.64%.)
As for the time that the “clicks” were there, here are those statistics:
1,015 were there for 0 seconds! Wow.
291 were there for 1-5 seconds. What a drop.
674 of them were there for 5-10 seconds. Compared to previous statistics, this is quite a surprise.
71 were there for 10-20 seconds.
What’s crazy is that my ad never changed. Just the splash page.
So why did I get more clicks this time around? I really have no clue.
For starters, I didn’t get less than 100 per day in total clicks. In the previous post, I had multiple days of less than 100 total clicks.
Either something’s not adding up or it might be me. I don’t know, but I can’t continue to lose my brain trying to figure it out.
Secondly, you may be wondering,
What the hell happened between the 26th and the 28th of March!?
To that, I have no clue. According to my (second) splash page, it didn’t receive traffic then. Perhaps the traffic went to my first splash page.
At this point, I can’t verify that because the splash page provider gets rid of data.
In Conclusion on Untapped Traffic Ads
Part of me wants to believe that I should have driven more clicks to the sales page (because across all niches, the average conversion is 2%).
Another part of me believes what I said earlier: Had I built a list, I could have reminded them via a follow-up sequence.
This also falls in line with the idea that “the more times you show a potential customer your offer, the higher chance they are likely to get it”.
I think the number to show a potential customer is 7 times. I only marketed to them once (via the paid ad).
Now, if they saw my paid ad multiple times and still did nothing, well it is what it is.
In that case, those people probably wasted my ad spend… so really, it’s WAR! LOL just joking.
Either way, I’m deciding to chalk this experiment up as a loss. But I’m also deciding to fail forward.
So, yes this was a failure, but I’m not stopping here.
I’m pretty sure there’s a good amount of people killing it with these traffic sources.
I’m going to figure it out and be one of them one day. Hopefully, it doesn’t result in me wasting all my money trying to do so.
If you want to learn what these traffic sources are, you should get a hold of Untapped Traffic.
I reviewed it over here if you want to check it out.
Till Next Time…
p.s. If you want to check out the first and second posts on this journey, this is the first one linked here.
The second one is linked here.